Remastered Deluxe Edition of Olivia Newton-John’s Greatest Hits album out now

Olivia Newton-John’s Greatest Hits album from 1977 has been re-released as a remastered Deluxe Edition on both vinyl and CD. The album is celebrating its 45th anniversary and work on this re-issue had been started long before Olivia passed away on August 8 this year.

Full catalog remastered

Primary Wave has started re-issuing Olivia’s catalog in remastered format in 2021. Remastered versions (cd, vinyl and digital) have already been released for Physical (the million-selling album celebrated its 40th Anniversary in 2021) and Olivia’s first ever album If Not For You (released only last month as a 2CD Deluxe Edition, including bonus track, alternate versions, previously unreleased recordings and tracks by the band Toomorrow). The remastering of Olivia’s catalog is in the capable hands of Vinny Vero.

International releases combined

The original Greatest Hits album encompassed her hits between 1971 and 1976, starting with If Not For You and ending with the Bee Gees penned Come on Over – all hit songs in the pre-Grease era.

In 1977 the Geatest Hits vinyl album was released with a different track listing in nearly every continent, reflecting her hits in those areas. There were five different international releases for USA/Canada; Europe/Mexico/South America; Scandinavia; Japan; Australia/New Zealand. For this new remastered Deluxe Edition all versions have been combined into one CD set containing 20 songs. The original album was certified double platinum in the US, platinum in both the UK and Canada, and has sold over 5 million copies worldwide.

The track listing for the Deluxe Edition (outside of Japan) is as follows

  1. If Not For You ­– 1971 (Remastered 2022)
  2. Changes – 1972 (Remastered 2022)
  3. Let Me Be There – 1973 (Remastered 2022)
  4. If You Love Me (Let Me Know) – 1973 (Remastered 2022)
  5. I Honestly Love You – 1974 (Remastered 2022)
  6. Have You Never Been Mellow – 1975 (Remastered 2022)
  7. Please Mr. Please – 1975 (Remastered 2022)
  8. Something Better To Do – 1975
  9. Let It Shine – 1975 (Remastered 2022)
  10. Come On Over – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  11. Don’t Stop Believin’ – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  12. Sam – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  13. Take Me Home Country Roads – 1973 (Remastered 2022)
  14. Banks Of The Ohio – 1972 (Remastered 2022)
  15. Love Song – 1972 (Remastered 2022)
  16. Jolene – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  17. The Air That I Breathe – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  18. Every Face Tells A Story – 1976 (Remastered 2022)
  19. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina – 1977 (Remastered 2022)
  20. Making A Good Thing Better – 1977

Special Japan Deluxe Edition

The Japanese fans are more lucky with a special expanded SHM-CD Deluxe Edition for the Japanese market only. This is a two disc set, with the original Greatest Hits Vol. 2, originally released in 1982, now added to the original Greatest Hits album (1977) for this Deluxe Edition. The Japanese edition also comes with a double-sided poster with Olivia’s printed signature and special liner notes for her Japanese fans, which she wrote last July.

Japanese Deluxe Edition

Order of the Rising Sun

In November 2021 Olivia was awarded the special Japanese recognition the Order of the Rising Sun for her contribution to developing musical culture in Japan and promoting friendly relations with Australia. She videotaped a thank you message to show her gratitude.

The track listing for the additional cd of the Japanese 2CD Deluxe Edition is as follows (the first cd is the same as the other international releases.)

  1. Heart Attack
  2. Magic
  3. Physical
  4. Hopelessly Devoted To You
  5. Make A Move On Me
  6. Deeper Than The Night
  7. Landslide
  8. A Little More Love
  9. You’re The One That I Want
  10. Tied Up
  11. Suddenly
  12. Totally Hot
  13. The Promise (The Dolphin Song)
  14. Xanadu


Apart from a regular vinyl Deluxe Edition consisting of a 2LP set with the same track listing as the international CD set Target stores in the USA will release a special two-color vinyl edition of the remastered GH album in November named Greatest Hits 1971-1982. It will have the original 12 tracks from the first Greatest Hits (1977) album on blue vinyl and the 10 tracks from Olivia’s Greatest Hits Volume 2 on pink vinyl. Both black and colored vinyl editions come with a gatefold sleeve.

Vinyl cover

As of now all versions can be (pre)ordered through the major international outlets. The Target vinyl can be purchased here and the Japanese Deluxe Edition (CD) can be ordered here

Target colored vinyl edition